ODL Online About ODL Oklahoma Libraries Library FYI Reference Desk Publications State Government Information U.S. Government Information Cartwright Law Library Literacy Programs

Oklahoma Center for the Book sec a1 Oklahoma Center for the Book sec a2
Oklahoma Center for the Book sec b1

OCB Home Page   Board of Directors
Oklahoma Book Awards   Newsletters
Literary Map of Oklahoma

The Oklahoma Book Awards
A Celebration of Oklahoma Books and Authors

The 27th Annual Oklahoma Book Awards program was held Saturday, April 9, 2016
at the Jim Thorpe Museum and Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame.

2015 OK Book Awards program

2016 Arrell Gibson Award for Lifetime Achievement recipient was poet, author, and playwright Diane Glancy
2016 Ralph Ellison Award honoree was author and historian Dr. H. Wayne Morgan
Ginni Moore Campbell was honored with the Glenda Carlile Distinguished Service Award

2016 Book Award Program booklet      2016 Winners are here!


Winners from Previous Years      Latest Call for Entries (pdf)

Eligibility for the Oklahoma Book Awards

Any individual, organization, or company may enter in any appropriate category.

Books considered for this award must have an Oklahoma-based theme, or entrants (authors, illustrators, or designers) must live or have lived in Oklahoma.

Books must have been published between January 1 and December 31, of the preceding year. (For example, books eligible for the 2017 award would be published between January 1 and December 31, 2016.)

Books—hardcover or paperback—entered in previous Oklahoma Book Award competitions are not eligible.

Entries are forwarded to judges upon receipt—please enter as soon as possible.


Typically, entries must be received by around the 10th day of January (exact dates will be available on the most recent prospectus or entry form, available for download).

Finalists will be notified in February.

Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony which typically occurs around the second week of March.


A panel of judges will consider all entries. Judges will grant awards at their discretion. Panel members represent a range of expertise in the writing and publishing fields covered by the award categories. Entries in all categories (except the design/illustration category) are principally judged on the quality of writing, with organization and interpretation also playing a role in the decision.

Special Notes

$25 entry fee is required for each category entered.

Entrants will be responsible for all shipping charges—collect shipments will be refused.

The awards committee reserves the right to change the category of an entry.

No award will be given in categories where fewer than five entries have been submitted.


Current and Past Oklahoma Book Award Winners and Finalists


Arrell Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

Ralph Ellison Award Recipients

Previous Oklahoma Book Award Winners (single list)



Go back to Previous Page

ODL Online Logo
Copyright ©   -  All Rights Reserved
Oklahoma Department of Libraries