ODL Online About ODL Oklahoma Libraries Library FYI Reference Desk Publications State Government Information U.S. Government Information Cartwright Law Library Literacy Programs

Oklahoma Center for the Book sec a1 Oklahoma Center for the Book sec a2
Oklahoma Center for the Book sec b1

OCB Home Page   Board of Directors
Oklahoma Book Awards Newsletters
Literary Map of Oklahoma

2013 Oklahoma Book Award Finalists

Children/Young Adults

The Immortal Von B.—M. Scott Carter—The RoadRunner Press

Chikasha Stories, Volume Two: Shared Voices—Glenda Galvan—Chickasaw Press

Voices of the Dust Bowl—Sherry Garland—Pelican Publishing

Falcon—Tim Jessell—Random House

George: George Washington Our Founding Father—Frank Keating—Simon & Schuster

Arise—Tara Hudson—HarperCollins

While He Was Away—Karen Schreck—Sourcebooks, Inc.

Bawk & Roll—Tammi Sauer—Sterling Publishing Company

Princess in Training—Tammi Sauer—Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

The Twelve Days of Christmas in Oklahoma—Tammi Sauer—Sterling Publishing Company


Becoming the Village Potter: The Life of Linn L. Phelandesigned by Eric H. Anderson—Quail Creek Editions

Oklahoma Clay: Frankhoma Potterydesigned by Eric H. Anderson—Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art/University of Oklahoma

Operation Scissortail: Building a New Home for Devon Energy, Building a New Heart for OKC—designed by Carl Brune—Full Circle Press

Woody Crumbodesigned by Carol Haralson, Robert S. Cross photographer—Gilcrease Museum/University of Tulsa

The James T. Bialac Native American Art Collectiondesigned by Carol Haralson and Tony Roberts—Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art/University of Oklahoma Press

Spring Will Come: The Life of Clem McSpaddendesigned by Skip McKinstry—Oklahoma Heritage Association

George: George Washington, Our Founding Fatherillustrated by Mike Wimmer—Simon & Schuster

Woody’s Road: Woody Guthrie’s Letters Home, Drawings, Photos, and Other Unburied Treasuresdesigned by Paige Shepard—Paradigm Publishers


Vermeer’s Lady in Waiting—Lolly Anderson—Ionic Press

Wrong Hill to Die On: An Alafair Tucker Mystery—Donis Casey—Poisoned Pen Press

Hard Twisted—C. Joseph Greaves—Bloomsbury

Crimes of Redemption—Linda McDonald—The Roadrunner Press

Stardust—Carla StewartFaith Words

Five O’Clock Follies: What’s a Woman Doing Here, Anyway?—Theasa Tuohy—Calliope Press

Playing with Matches—Carolyn Wall—Bantam Books


Route 66 Still Kicks: Driving America’s Main Street—Rick Antonson—Skyhorse Publishing Inc.

Opala: In Faithful Service to the Law—Bob Burke and Ryan Leonard—Oklahoma Heritage Association

Operation Scissortail: Building a New Home for Devon Energy, Building a New Heart for OKC—Steve Lackmeyer and Jack Money—Full Circle Press

Woody Crumbo—Minisa Crumbo Halsey, Ruthe Blalock Jones, Carole Klein, Robert Perry, and Kimberly Roblin—Gilcrease Museum/University of Tulsa

Twenty Thousand Mornings: An Autobiography—John Joseph Mathews, edited by Susan Kalter—University of Oklahoma Press

Floyd Patterson: The Fighting Life of Boxing’s Invisible Champion—W.K. Stratton—Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Terrorism TV: Popular Entertainment in Post-9/11 America—Stacy Takacs—University Press of Kansas

Canvas of Clay: Seven Centuries of Hopi Ceramic Art—Edwin L. Wade and Allan Cooke—El Otro Lado

The Second Battle of Cabin Creek: Brilliant Victory—Steven L. Warren—The History Press


Karma Crisis: New and Selected Poems—Nathan Brown—Mezcalita Press

Indios—Linda Hogan—Wings Press

Nocturnes and Sometimes, Even I—Carl Sennhenn—Village Books Press

Cowboys and Cantos—Ron Wallace—TJMF

The Smell of Good Mud—Lauren Zuniga—Write Bloody Publishing



The Oklahoma Center for the Book, sponsor of the Oklahoma Book Award competition, is a non-profit, 501-c-3 organization located in the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. Established in 1986 as an outreach program of the Library of Congress, the Oklahoma Center was the fourth such state center formed. It is governed by a volunteer board of directors from across the state.

The mission of the Oklahoma Center for the Book is
to promote the work of Oklahoma authors,
to promote the literary heritage of the state, and
to encourage reading for pleasure by Oklahomans of all ages.

For more information about the Oklahoma Center for the Book or the Oklahoma Book Award program, contact Connie Armstrong, 200 N.E. 18th Street, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73105; or call 1-800-522-8116 toll free, statewide; in the Oklahoma City metropolitan area, call 522-3383.



Back to Oklahoma Book Award Page
Back to ODL Agency Services
Back to ODL Home Page


ODL Online Logo
Copyright ©   -  All Rights Reserved
Oklahoma Department of Libraries