ODL Online About ODL Oklahoma Libraries Library FYI Reference Desk Publications State Government Information U.S. Government Information Cartwright Law Library Literacy Programs

Oklahoma Center for the Book sec a1 Oklahoma Center for the Book sec a2
Oklahoma Center for the Book sec b1

OCB Home Page   Board of Directors
Oklahoma Book Awards Newsletters
Literary Map of Oklahoma

2012 Oklahoma Book Award Finalists

Children/Young Adults

Stealing Kevin’s Heart—M. Scott Carter—The RoadRunner Press

Chikasha Stories, Volume One: Shared Spirit—Glenda Galvan—Chickasaw Press

The Revenant—Sonia Gensler—Alfred A. Knopf

Hereafter—Tara Hudson—HarperCollins

The Grave Robber’s Secret—Anna Myers—Walker & Company

The Snow Blew Inn—Dian Curtis Regan—Holiday House

Mr. Duck Means Business—Tammi Sauer—Simon & Schuster


The Eugene B. Adkins Collection—designed by Eric Anderson—University of Oklahoma Press

Shooting from the Hip: Photographs and Essays—photography by J. Don Cook, designed by Julie Rushing and Tony Roberts—University of Oklahoma Press

Route 66 Sightings—photographed and designed by Shellee Graham, Jerry McClanahan, and Jim Ross—Ghost Town Press

Forging a Nation: The American History Collection of Gilcrease Museum—design by Carol Haralson, photography by Robert S. Cross—The Gilcrease Museum

To Capture the Sun: Gold of Ancient Panama—design by Carol Haralson, photography by Robert S. Cross—The Gilcrease Museum

Ilimpa’chi’ (We’re Gonna Eat!): A Chickasaw Cookbook—photography by Sanford Mauldin, design by Aaron Long and Skip McKinstry—Chickasaw Press


Cold Glory—B. Kent Anderson—Forge Books

Crying Blood—Donis Casey—Poisoned Pen Press

The American Café—Sara Sue Hoklotubbe—The University of Arizona Press

Along The Watchtower—Constance Squires—Penguin Group

Broken Wings—Carla Stewart—Faith Words

Strangers & Exiles—Marlene Reed Wetzel—Out on a Limb

Dandelion Summer—Lisa Wingate—Penguin Group


The Oklahoma State Capitol: A History of Our Seat of Government—Bob Burke and Charles Ford—Oklahoma State Senate Historical Preservation Fund Inc. and Oklahoma Heritage Association

The Cherokee Syllabary: Writing the People’s Perseverance—Ellen Cushman—University of Oklahoma Press

Stories of Old-Time Oklahoma—David Dary—University of Oklahoma Press

Forging a Nation: The American History Collection at Gilcrease Museum—Amanda Lett, Randy Ramer, Kimberly Roblin, and Eric Singleton—Gilcrease Museum

Dynamic Chickasaw Women—Judy Goforth Parker and Phillip Carroll Morgan—Chickasaw Press

An American Betrayal: Cherokee Patriots and the Trail of Tears—Daniel Blake Smith—Henry Holt & Company

David Crockett: The Lion of the West—Michael Wallis—W.W. Norton & Company

The Wild West 365—Michael Wallis—Abrams

Will Rogers: A Political Life—Richard D. White Jr.—Texas Tech University Press


The River White: A Confluence of Brush & Quill—Ken Hada—Mongrel Empire Press

Depending on the Weather—Abigail Keegan—Village Books Press

Leaving Holes & Selected New Writings—Joe Dale Tate Nevaquaya—Mongrel Empire Press

Hail Mary, On Two—Jim Spurr—Village Books Press

Dreaming Sam Peckinpah—W.K. Stratton—Ink Brush Press

In the Shadow of Asclepius: Poems from American Medicine—Howard F. Stein—Dog Ear Publishing



The Oklahoma Center for the Book, sponsor of the Oklahoma Book Award competition, is a non-profit, 501-c-3 organization located in the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. Established in 1986 as an outreach program of the Library of Congress, the Oklahoma Center was the fourth such state center formed. It is governed by a volunteer board of directors from across the state.

The mission of the Oklahoma Center for the Book is
to promote the work of Oklahoma authors,
to promote the literary heritage of the state, and
to encourage reading for pleasure by Oklahomans of all ages.

For more information about the Oklahoma Center for the Book or the Oklahoma Book Award program, contact Connie Armstrong, 200 N.E. 18th Street, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73105; or call 1-800-522-8116 toll free, statewide; in the Oklahoma City metropolitan area, call 522-3383.



Back to Oklahoma Book Award Page
Back to ODL Agency Services
Back to ODL Home Page


ODL Online Logo
Copyright   -  All Rights Reserved
Oklahoma Department of Libraries