ODL Online About ODL Oklahoma Libraries Library FYI Reference Desk Publications State Government Information U.S. Government Information Cartwright Law Library Literacy Programs

Oklahoma Center for the Book sec a1 Oklahoma Center for the Book sec a2
Oklahoma Center for the Book sec b1

OCB Home Page   Board of Directors
Oklahoma Book Awards Newsletters
Literary Map of Oklahoma

2011 Oklahoma Book Award Finalists

Children/Young Adults

Portrait of a Generation: The Children of Oklahoma, Sons and Daughters of the Red Earth—M.J. Alexander—Southwestern Publishing

“Cholhkanat Lowak Ishminti” Spider Brings Fire—Linda Hogan—Chickasaw Nation, Division of Arts & Humanities

Salvaged—Stefne Miller—Tate Publishing & Enterprises

Mostly Monsterly—Tammi Sauer—Simon & Schuster

Saltypie: A Choctaw Journey from Darkness into Light—Tim Tingle—Cinco Puntos Press


Building One Fire—designed by Carol Haralson—The Cherokee Nation

Proud to be Chickasaw—designed by Skip McKinstry, illustrated by Mike Larsen—Chickasaw Press

Oklahoma National Stockyards—designed by Doug Miller—Mullerhaus Publishing Arts, Inc.

Portrait of a Generation: The Children of Oklahoma, Sons and Daughters of the Red Earth—designed by Scott O’Daniel, photography by M.J. Alexander—Southwestern Publishing

Arena Legacy: The Heritage of American Rodeo—designed by Tony Roberts and Julie Rushing, collection photography by Ed Muno—University of Oklahoma Press


Stations West—Allison Amend—Louisiana State University Press

With No Steps To Follow—David Allen Barton—Tate Publishing & Enterprises

Cheyenne Madonna—Eddie Chuculate—David R. Godine publisher

God’s Acres—David Gerard—PenUltimate Press

The Insane Train—Sheldon Russell—Minotaur Books publisher

Chasing Lilacs—Carla Stewart—Faith Words publisher


Native American Son: The Life and Sporting Legend of Jim Thorpe—Kate Buford—Alfred A. Knopf publisher

Chickasaw Removal—Fuller L. Bumpers, Daniel F. Littlefield Jr., and Amanda L. Paige—Chickasaw Press

Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History and Culture—edited by Dianna Everett, Jon May, Larry O’Dell, and Linda Wilson—Oklahoma Historical Society

Deadly Kingdom: The Book of Dangerous Animals—Gordon Grice—Random House Publishing Group

Empire of the Summer Moon: Quanah Parker and the Rise and Fall of the Comanches, the Most Powerful Indian Tribe in American History—S.C. Gwynne—Scribner

Race and the University: A Memoir—George Henderson—University of Oklahoma Press

Arena Legacy: The Heritage of American Rodeo—Richard C. Rattenbury—University of Oklahoma Press

Luis Ortega’s Rawhide Artistry: Braiding in the California Tradition—Don Reeves and Chuck Stormes—University of Oklahoma Press

Oilfield Trash: Life and Labor in the Oil Patch—Bobby D. Weaver—Texas A&M University Press


Spare Parts—Ken Hada—Mongrel Empire Press

Umberto Eco Lost His Gun—Carol Hamilton—Pudding House Publications

Elegy for Trains—Benjamin Myers—Village Books Press

Seeing Rightly with the Heart—Howard Stein—Finishing Line Press

Bird Days—Sheila Tiarks—Village Books Press

Oklahoma Baroque—Renata Treitel—Out On A Limb Publishing

Oklahoma Cantos—Ron Wallace—TJMF Publishing



The Oklahoma Center for the Book, sponsor of the Oklahoma Book Award competition, is a non-profit, 501-c-3 organization located in the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. Established in 1986 as an outreach program of the Library of Congress, the Oklahoma Center was the fourth such state center formed. It is governed by a volunteer board of directors from across the state.

The mission of the Oklahoma Center for the Book is
to promote the work of Oklahoma authors,
to promote the literary heritage of the state, and
to encourage reading for pleasure by Oklahomans of all ages.

For more information about the Oklahoma Center for the Book or the Oklahoma Book Award program, contact Connie Armstrong, 200 N.E. 18th Street, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73105; or call 1-800-522-8116 toll free, statewide; in the Oklahoma City metropolitan area, call 522-3383.



Back to Oklahoma Book Award Page
Back to ODL Agency Services
Back to ODL Home Page


ODL Online Logo
Copyright   -  All Rights Reserved
Oklahoma Department of Libraries