Press Release
Facts at a Glance
Everyday in Oklahoma Partners
Kids Count Leadership
About OICA
Overview and Findings
Child Health
Economic Clusters
State Benchmarks
County Benchmarks
Download Factbook

Copyright 2005

Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy
420 N.W. 13th Street
Suite 101
Oklahoma City 73103
Phone: 405-236-5437
Fax: 405-236-5439

More Oklahoma Kids Count Factbooks are available




Oklahoma KIDS COUNT Partnership Supported by:

Annie E. Casey Foundation
The Chickasaw Nation
Integris Health
Stillwater National Bank and Trust Company
Oklahoma Natural Gas
Sonic, America's Drive-In
Medlmmune, Inc.
Bob & Peggy McCormick
Drs. Roger & Carol Sheldon
Mortgage Management, Inc.
The Harris Foundation
John and Caroline Lineham
Laurie & Nick Fuller
American Fidelity Assurance Co.
Control Fire Systems
S design, inc.
Special Thanks to Ann Patterson Salazar for Photographs


Oklahoma KIDS COUNT Partnership

Lead Agency
Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy
Anne Roberts, Executive Director, Oklahoma KIDS COUNT Project Director
Ann Salazar, Oklahoma KIDS COUNT Project Coordinator
Julianna Osuna, Oklahoma KIDS COUNT Factbook Project Coordinator

Data Analyst and Writer
Ingraham & Associates, PLLC
Sandy Ingraham, JD, MSW
Nina Rowland, Administrator

Data Partner
Oklahoma Department of Commerce
Kathy Taylor, Secretary of Commerce and Tourism
Jeff Wallace, Director of Programs

Leadership Partner
Oklahoma Commission on Children and Youth
Janice Hendryx, Executive Director
Lisa Smith, Assistant Director

Design Partner
S Design, Inc.
Sarah Sears, Creative Direction
Marc Bostian, Design
Jesse James Davison, Design
Cara Sanders Robb, Design


2005 Oklahoma Kids Count Factbook

A publication which reports on the well-being of children and youth in Oklahoma. Data from the Oklahoma KIDS COUNT Factbook is included on the website for the Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy at

Oklahoma KIDS COUNT Partnership
C/O Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy
420 NW 13th Street, Suite 101
phone: 405-236-KIDS (5437)
fax: 405-236-KIDX (5439)
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73103

The National KIDS COUNT Databook is an annual publication that reports on the well-being of children, youth and families in the United States. The publication is free and available through: The Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 St. Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, 1-410-547-6600, or online at

This research was funded in part by the Annie E. Casey Foundation. We thank them for their support but acknowledge that the findings and conclusions presented in this report are those of the author(s) alone, and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the Foundation.

Copyright 2005, Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy, Inc.
Permission to copy, disseminate or otherwise use information from this Factbook is granted as long as acknowledgment is given to the Oklahoma KIDS COUNT Partnership, a project of the Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy. Sources for the data used in this book, which are listed in the Methodology & Sources section online at, remain the final authority regarding the quality and meaning of the data.



Oklahoma KIDS COUNT thanks the many individuals and organizations for their partnership in preparing this publication. Many individuals at the respective agencies assisted with this endeavor.

Dr. James M. Crutcher
Oklahoma State Department of Health

Robert Buswell
Office of Accountability

Sandy Garrett
Oklahoma State Department of Education

Howard Hendrick
Oklahoma Department of Human Services

DeWade Langley
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation

Susan McVey
Oklahoma Department of Libraries

Kathy Taylor
Oklahoma Department of Commerce

Mike Fogarty
Oklahoma Health Care Authority


Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy Board of Directors 2005

Kimberly Francisco, President, Oklahoma City
Caroline Linehan, VP Development, Oklahoma City
Ron Rocke, VP Development, Oklahoma City
Linda Dzialo, Ph.D., VP Directors, Oklahoma City
Anne Calvert, Secretary/Treasurer, Oklahoma City
Dean Stringer, President Elect, Oklahoma City

Lisa Barrowman, Oklahoma City
Bill Doenges, Tulsa
Doug Fox, Tulsa
Terry D. Harryman, Oklahoma City
Lyn Hester, Oklahoma City
Dianne Juhnke, Enid
Jay Keel, Ada
Ed Legako, M.D., Lawton
Bob McCormick, Stillwater
Peggy McCormick, Stillwater
D. Kent Meyers, Oklahoma City
Ben H. Robinson, Muskogee
Roger Sheldon, M.D., Oklahoma City
Thad Satterfield, Bartlesville
Cindy Shuberg, Oklahoma City
Ken Young, Oklahoma City

Anne Roberts, Executive Director, Norman