The Seal of the State of Oklahoma   Oklahoma Department of Libraries
Catalog Feedback Search The Web Site Map What's New
About ODL Oklahoma Libraries Library FYI Reference Desk Publications State Government Information U.S. Government Information Cartwright Law Library Literacy Programs

Dept. of Libraries

200 NE 18th St
Oklahoma City,

(405) 521-2502
(405) 525-7804—FAX

Susan C. McVey,
ODL Director

 Vicki Sullivan,
ODL Deputy Director

ODL Board
ODL Board Meeting Dates and Agendas
ODL Board Minutes
ODL Deputy Director
ODL Divisions & Staff Listing
Service Locations and Hours
Agency Services  

Susan C. McVey

Susan McVey became ODL’s Director on April 20, 2001. McVey had served Photo of Susan McVeythe agency as Deputy Director for the previous five years.

Prior to joining ODL as a legislative reference librarian in 1986, McVey served as a reference librarian and later director of the library at Oklahoma City University. She earned a masters in library science degree from the University of Texas at Austin and a masters in public administration degree from the University of Oklahoma.

McVey previously administered the Jan Eric Cartwright Memorial Library, a branch of ODL located in the State Capitol Building.

She has been a member of the Oklahoma Library Association (OLA) since 1976 and served as president from 1987-88. Among numerous other offices, she was a former editor of OLA’s publication, The Oklahoma Librarian. McVey has been active in regional and national library professional organizations as well. She is a past president of the Chief Officers of State Library Agencies (COSLA), an organization of state librarians. McVey is a recipient of OLA’s Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor given by the Association for exemplary service to the state’s library community. McVey has also been honored by OLA as an Oklahoma Library Legend.

ODL Online Logo
Copyright  -  All Rights Reserved
Oklahoma Department of Libraries